Long Beach Unit 

 June 15, 2012


by Jon Yinger

UNIT website: www.acblunit557.org

           CLUB website: www.LongBeachBridge.com


            MAY 27  UNIT GAME:  Overall results: 1st in A:  Marcie Evans/Mary Kiechle,  2nd Tess Martell/Lowell Andrews,  3rd Bob Mault/Phyllis Parker,  4th Earl VanDerVord/Jon Yinger,  5th Mark Tang/Matt Leung,  6th Susan and Keith Hafen.  B flight overalls:  2nd Janet Wickersham/Ann Cressman,  3rd Sharon and Al Appel,  4th Paul Pettler/Judy Jones,  5th Renee Alpert/Joan Kaye,  6th Fay Beckerman/Sherry Troeger.  C flight overalls:  2nd Usha Bansal/Kiyo Nagaishi,  3rd Regina Boll/Joe Lau,  4th Gloria Sedore/Dorothy Favre.  Congratulations to all! 
             M////AY 10  unit-rated INTERNATIONAL FUND GAME:   Overall results: 1st in A:  Lois Perovich/Paul Langerman,  2nd John Petrie/Earl VanDerVord,  3rd Aaron Jones/Steve Sturm,  4th John Killian/John Wong,  5/6 Jay and Connie Young tied with Richard and Robert Bakovic.  B flight overalls:  5th Marcus Evans/Carmela Chiurazzi,   6th Diane Starbuck/Thad Mikols.  C flight overalls:  3rd Melanie and Jerome Smith, 4th George Welsh/Mary Thomas,  5th Phyllis Greenstein/Doreen Maes.  Congratulations to all!
             70+% GAMES in the club May 16 through June 15 (all in open games):  May 24 Gary King/Steve Mager had a 70.83% game.  May 25 Lois Abramson/Rich Wasser had 71.73% in the evening game.  May 30 Mark Teaford/Irwin Bender had 71.68%.  And June 11 Betty McClellan/Jon Yinger had 70.22%.  Congratulations to us all! 

  BIG MASTER POINT AWARDS:  Big point awards for 1st, 2nd or 3rd in open games May 16 through June 15:  May 21 Betty McClellan/Jon Yinger won 3.79mp for 1st.  May 22 Bruce Horiguchi/Aaron Jones won 4.12mp for 1st and Lowell Andrews/Cecil Cook won 3.09mp for 2nd.  May 25 Jo Daigle/Steve Rose won 4.13 for 1st and Mike Ullman/Roger Farmer won 3.17mp for 2nd.  In the Unit Game May 27 Marcie Evans/Mary Kiechle won 3.83mp for 1st over-all.  On their mutual birthday, May 29, Rich Wasser/Steve Rowe won 2.50mp for 1st over-all.  In the evening game June 1 Verna Baccus/Hanefi Erten won 3.83mp for 1st overall (Worldwide Bridge contest).  And in the second day of the World Wide Bridge contest, June 2, Kevin Lane/Bruce Altshuler also won 3.83mp for 1st over-all.  June 3 Diane Starbuck/Wayne Rapp won 3.33mp.  June 4 Aaron Jones/Greg Tapia won 5.67 for 1st,  Kay Tseng/John Melis won 4.25mp for 2nd, and Sibyl Slutsky/Phil Schuster won 3.19mp for 3rd.   June 5  Jo Daigle/Bev Shafer won 6.33mp for 1st,  John Bralliar/Bruce Horiguchi won 4.75 for 2nd, Yas Takeda/Steve Sturm won 3.56mp for 3rd.  June 6 Phyllis Parker/John Petrie won 4.67mp for 1st,  John and Suzie Hand won 3.50mp for 2nd.  June 7 Jackie Hess/Baum Harris won 4.83 for 1st,  Marjorie Michelin/Carole Weinstein won 3.63mp for 2nd.  June 8 Mike Daley/Earl VanDerVord won 7.33mp for 1st,  Larry Topper/Bob Goldstein won 5.50mp for 2nd, and tied for 3/4, each winning 3.61mp, were Bob Mault/Phyllis Parker and Steve Rowe/Jo Daigle.  In the evening game Brandon Sheumaker/Charlotte Sturm were 1st winning 3.67mp.  June 9 Cayce Blanchard/John Melis won 4.83mp for 1st, and tied for 2/3 were Betty McClellan/Steve Skinner and John Petrie/Sankar Reddy, each winning 3.17mp.  Congratulations to all!

NEW MEMBERS:  William Heck, Carol Lopresti, Cynthia Pinkerton, Richard Hammerjohn and Kim Stockdale.  Transfers into our unit:  Usha Bansal and Marilyn Gasman.  Welcome to the club!

STATUS CHANGES:  Sectional Master:  Ron Yaffee;  Life Master:  Norma Krueger;  and Diamond Life Master:  Bee Kinman.  At Leisure World the newsletter announced that Bee had crossed the threshold of 55,000mp.  Wow!!  But I think they actually meant 5,000.  Congratulations to you all!! 

           UP-COMING EVENTS AT THE CLUB:   June 18-June 23 NAP qualifying week.  June 24 Unit Game:  lunch at 12:30, game at 1pm.   July 2 Inter-Club Chamionship Game.  July 4  Independence Day unit-rated game.  July 13 (evening) ACBL-Wide International Fund Game.  July 15 Unit Game—“eight is enough.”  July 16 through July 22  Districts 22 and 23 STaC week. July 23 through July 29:  Club Championship week.  NAP and IFG games:  hand records, extra points, $11 fee.  Other special games—extra points, regular prices.

           GET WELL WISHES to Lois Abramson who is recovering from a broken hip.

         NEWS FROM LEISURE WORLD from Gene Yaffee:  Overall winners in the Club Championship game on May 5 were Gloria Sedore & Linda Carder; 2nd--Verna Burns & Joan Tschirki; 3rd--Eileen Nelson & Bee Kinman. 

           Special upcoming events: Monday, June 18, BBQ dinner immediately following the bridge game.         

Special Unit-rated game on Thursday, June 28. For more information on either of these events call Ruth Kaller, Club Manager, at 562/430-0316 or Ted Wieber, President, at 562/596-8661.  Results of all Leisure World games are posted on www.acblunit557.org 

           Our condolences go out to the families of Barbara Zarzycki and Pandju Merali.

           Gene Yaffee,    Leisure World Duplicate Bridge  562/430-7040. 

           GET  THE UNIT 557 NEWSLETTER  Via EMAIL:   Send me your e-mail address and I’ll put you on the list.  My email is jyinger1@gmail.com.